Discuss Scratch

_nix
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

ZippyZebraZoom85749 wrote:

ChristianScratcher1 wrote:

ZippyZebraZoom85749 wrote:

Despite the different reasons, I'm actually gonna support this one.
If somebody accidentally deletes a sprite, just use the “Restore Sprite” button.
I've used Scratch for 6 years and didn't know that existed until earlier this year.

Plus it only restores one thing which is gonna be hard if you accidenally deleted multiple things.

IF this was a toggle (default would have deletion confirmation on), I'd semi-support to make it easier to delete in bulk. But the confirmation is actually quite useful.
If you “accidentally” delete two sprites at once, you've got a problem.
Yep, and the problem is the first sprite you deleted is gone for good unless you happen to reload the page before you save it or you restore from a backup, both of which are acceptable safeguards, but both of which might involve other data loss, and both of which are not too obvious to people not used to being careful with their data in the first place.
axalotlautomaster_2
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

I think you could have a “don't show this message again” checkbox and a way to make the message appear again
CaptFrIEdshrimp
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

No support. The reasons above should be obvious.
gdfsgdfsgdfg
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

I was about to dunk this suggestion until I read the posts in the suggestion

the suggestion is only good as a toggle
making it permanent will cause more problems than solve them
PaperMarioFan2024
Scratcher
500+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

axalotlautomaster_2 wrote:

I think you could have a “don't show this message again” checkbox and a way to make the message appear again
Or this would be viable, if implemented correctly and executed per to what the OP is asking for or the way it’s intended to work.

But what if in the case scenario of someone who doesn’t know that option exists, what if they don’t understand how to use that said feature/toggle? I have to admit, it would be a little confusing knowing that this is going to be a possible implementation.

Last edited by PaperMarioFan2024 (Yesterday 12:31:37)

Ngn5
Scratcher
95 posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

ColegioItariri wrote:

No Support, if some one delete a sprite for accident the user will Lost forever His project
it's not like the entire sprite is the project dude

no offense but i can barely read what you're saying

to anyone on about the toggle: the toggle should be on by default
Quantum-Cat
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

axalotlautomaster_2 wrote:

(#22)
I think you could have a “don't show this message again” checkbox and a way to make the message appear again
Or even better, “don't show this message again for the next … minutes”. This is because the message is only annoying if the user is deleting multiple spites quickly.
Haycat2009
Scratcher
500+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

Quantum-Cat wrote:

axalotlautomaster_2 wrote:

(#22)
I think you could have a “don't show this message again” checkbox and a way to make the message appear again
Or even better, “don't show this message again for the next … minutes”. This is because the message is only annoying if the user is deleting multiple spites quickly.
…or a user profile setting that is on by default? Less careless Scratchers will benefit from a permanent toggle in settings.
Whatdidyousay245
Scratcher
100+ posts

Removing "Are you sure you want to delete this sprite?"

Ngn5 wrote:

ColegioItariri wrote:

No Support, if some one delete a sprite for accident the user will Lost forever His project
it's not like the entire sprite is the project dude

no offense but i can barely read what you're saying

to anyone on about the toggle: the toggle should be on by default

I agree but sometimes people make large projects using very little sprites so if they accidentally deleted one it would destroy the project and probably make it very hard to fix

Last edited by Whatdidyousay245 (Today 07:40:35)

Powered by DjangoBB