Discuss Scratch

Hatarn72
New to Scratch
2 posts

Age requirements for creating Scratch accounts?

Hello,
I'm a teacher at an elementary school, I'm interested in using Scratch with my 5th grade students.
I looked through the fine print to find out about age restrictions, but I couldn't find any. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Maybe I missed it or someone can shed some light on the situation for me. My students are 10-11years old.

I looked into the actual account process. students need an email to sign up, but I found out that I can have more than one account using the same email. Is it against the rules to put all 25 of my students on one email?

I did see the possibility of downloading scratch to the computer, but I would rather not go through the process of doing that for 25 computers.

Thanks in advance.
ErnieParke
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Hi @Hatarn72! Welcome to Scratch! :)

It's nice to see that you want to bring kids to Scratch. Scratch is meant to be for kids of all ages, meaning that there really isn't an age restriction. In fact, if you look at the Scratch Statistics page, you'll see that the average Scratcher age is only 1-3 years above your group.

As for putting everyone on one email, I haven't seen anything going against that rule, so I'm sure it would be completely fine. The only use that emails have is account recovery, so if you keep you or a student remember the account names, then nothing bad should really happen.

Welcomes,

ErnieParke

Last edited by ErnieParke (May 20, 2014 20:08:55)

scimonster
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Hatarn72 wrote:

Hello,
I'm a teacher at an elementary school, I'm interested in using Scratch with my 5th grade students.
I looked through the fine print to find out about age restrictions, but I couldn't find any. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Maybe I missed it or someone can shed some light on the situation for me. My students are 10-11years old.
5th grade is definitely old enough.