Discuss Scratch
- Discussion Forums
- » Questions about Scratch
- » If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
- Trash_Boat
-
Scratcher
16 posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
Ever since I started scratch, I think I had problems with my computer. Now that a week has passed, I asked for scratch(in “contact me”) for them to delete it. Will this delete me projects as well?
- turkey3
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
I think they are still stored on the server, but if you try to access the page you'll get a 404 error. But I'm not sure, and if you always want you can save the projects to your computer to someday use them again
and what problems have you had? I doubt they're from Scratch.
and what problems have you had? I doubt they're from Scratch.- Lilifant7253
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
Ever since I started scratch, I think I had problems with my computer. Now that a week has passed, I asked for scratch(in “contact me”) for them to delete it. Will this delete me projects as well?I'm sorry I don't know but I think Turkey3 has answered your question well.

I think they are still stored on the server, but if you try to access the page you'll get a 404 error. But I'm not sure, and if you always want you can save the projects to your computer to someday use them againDo you know what happens with the loves and faves a scratcher who deleted his account gave?and what problems have you had? I doubt they're from Scratch.
- turkey3
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
Not sureEver since I started scratch, I think I had problems with my computer. Now that a week has passed, I asked for scratch(in “contact me”) for them to delete it. Will this delete me projects as well?I'm sorry I don't know but I think Turkey3 has answered your question well.I think they are still stored on the server, but if you try to access the page you'll get a 404 error. But I'm not sure, and if you always want you can save the projects to your computer to someday use them againDo you know what happens with the loves and faves a scratcher who deleted his account gave?and what problems have you had? I doubt they're from Scratch.
- Lilifant7253
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
No Problem. maybe someone else who knows will read this.Not sureEver since I started scratch, I think I had problems with my computer. Now that a week has passed, I asked for scratch(in “contact me”) for them to delete it. Will this delete me projects as well?I'm sorry I don't know but I think Turkey3 has answered your question well.I think they are still stored on the server, but if you try to access the page you'll get a 404 error. But I'm not sure, and if you always want you can save the projects to your computer to someday use them againDo you know what happens with the loves and faves a scratcher who deleted his account gave?and what problems have you had? I doubt they're from Scratch.

- jvvg
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
In the future, you will be able to delete your account from account settings. (source)
2. This takes them to a page that explains that they can do one of two things:So once you can do that, you can choose between those two options. In the meantime, I think it will delete all projects, because I don't think the infrastructure for option A is available yet.
a. Close their account. This keeps their user profile and projects visible, so that others can still see their projects and remix them, but it turns off commenting on all projects and their user profile.
b. Delete their account. This removes (unshares) all projects and makes visits to their profile page redirect to a page that says “this account has been removed.” (They should download any projects they want to keep first.)
Last edited by jvvg (Sept. 7, 2013 00:56:38)
- lightsong1
-
Scratcher
60 posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
In the future, you will be able to delete your account settings. (source)Could you restore your acc.?2. This takes them to a page that explains that they can do one of two things:So once you can do that, you can choose between those two options. In the meantime, I think it will delete all projects, because I don't think the infrastructure for option A is available yet.
a. Close their account. This keeps their user profile and projects visible, so that others can still see their projects and remix them, but it turns off commenting on all projects and their user profile.
b. Delete their account. This removes (unshares) all projects and makes visits to their profile page redirect to a page that says “this account has been removed.” (They should download any projects they want to keep first.)
- jvvg
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
There was a long discussion on this a while ago, and I think that the Scratch Team said that if you (or a hacker) deletes your account, you ARE able to get it back through the contact form.In the future, you will be able to delete your account settings. (source)Could you restore your acc.?2. This takes them to a page that explains that they can do one of two things:So once you can do that, you can choose between those two options. In the meantime, I think it will delete all projects, because I don't think the infrastructure for option A is available yet.
a. Close their account. This keeps their user profile and projects visible, so that others can still see their projects and remix them, but it turns off commenting on all projects and their user profile.
b. Delete their account. This removes (unshares) all projects and makes visits to their profile page redirect to a page that says “this account has been removed.” (They should download any projects they want to keep first.)
- Lilifant7253
-
Scratcher
1000+ posts
If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?
In the future, you will be able to delete your account from account settings. (source)Thanks for explaining!2. This takes them to a page that explains that they can do one of two things:So once you can do that, you can choose between those two options. In the meantime, I think it will delete all projects, because I don't think the infrastructure for option A is available yet.
a. Close their account. This keeps their user profile and projects visible, so that others can still see their projects and remix them, but it turns off commenting on all projects and their user profile.
b. Delete their account. This removes (unshares) all projects and makes visits to their profile page redirect to a page that says “this account has been removed.” (They should download any projects they want to keep first.)
- Discussion Forums
- » Questions about Scratch
-
» If I delete my account, will it delete the projects as well?