Discuss Scratch

sxhat
New to Scratch
3 posts

Controlling two WeDo motors separately

Hello,
I am new to Scratch and WeDo. I am interested in controlling two WeDo motors separately. It appears that the ‘standard’ Scratch can only control one motor (or, if two motors are connected, both motors are controlled identically).

After doing some web searching, I found a site (Link) that references what I think must be an add-in to Scratch that includes new Scratch blocks allowing separate control for each motor. I have the source code in a file called “controlingTwoMotors.zip” described as a “Squeak CS/Image”. But have no idea how to integrate it into Scratch.

How can I integrate this code to gain access to the new blocks?

Thanks for any help!
Stephen
sxhat
New to Scratch
3 posts

Here is the link: https://sites.google.com/site/michaelvorburger/wedo
abee
Scratcher
1000+ posts

sxhat wrote:

Here is the link: https://sites.google.com/site/michaelvorburger/wedo
Hi sxhat,

1. Download http://squeakland.jp/abee/tmp/controlingTwoMotors.zip and extract it.
2. Put all files into your Scratch folder.
3. Drag and drop controlingTwoMotors.image to Scratch.exe (Windows) or Scratch.app (Mac OS X).

Enjoy!
Kazuhiro Abe
sxhat
New to Scratch
3 posts

Excellent! Thank you!

Stephen
Pete66
New to Scratch
2 posts

Abee, this is really great! Is there any reason why these extensions to Scratch1.4 for two motors wouldn't work on a Raspberry Pi? Best wishes,Peter
abee
Scratcher
1000+ posts

Hi, Peter,
The image for RasPi is a little bit different from others.
So I made an image for you, but not tested.
http://squeakland.jp/abee/tmp/NanoBoardAGWithMotorsRasPi.zip
Could you let me know it works or not?
Thanks.

Kazuhiro Abe
Pete66
New to Scratch
2 posts

Hi Abe,
Many thanks for doing this image specially, I really appreciate it. I will post how it works!

Peter
kejava
New to Scratch
6 posts